Skip to main content

Pro tips for property matters-how to automate VOI, track settlements and more

• 12 April 2023
  • 1 reply
Pro tips for property matters-how to automate VOI, track settlements and more

As a Conveyancing Paralegal, I quickly learned how tracking time, capturing details early and automating  almost everything helped get the most efficiency and profit for my firm. Now that I’m in Client Success here at Smokeball I spend my days helping other property firms across Australia do the same. 

I’m here today to share the three things that my clients find make the biggest difference to their practice management for all things property. 

New client? Don’t skip those matter details! 
The saying “a stitch in time saves nine” applies to that first contact with a client. Every detail you get up front can be used to automate your reports, precedents, statements, adjustments and a whole lot more.

Firms who have a structured intake process to capture these details also save time by avoiding the need to follow up with the client for those one or two missing details. 

Taking the time at the start of each matter to fill in as many conveyancing details as possible will assist you in the long run with all our reports, precedents, and statement of adjustments if you’re a fixed fee firm. 

Let me know if you’d like a deep dive into improving your intake process or read on to learn how to use all that great data that you’ve gathered. 

Customise your dashboard and keep on top of your workload at a glance
Having full visibility of each critical date is something you can now set in your Smokeball Dashboard. Put all those details you gathered in the previous tip to good use by adding the “My Critical Dates” and “My Settlements” widget to your dashboard.

The My Settlements Dashboard covers the pointy end of most property matters and can help make sure you’re aware of any unexpected workload jumps in the unlikely event of last minute settlement conditions.